Welcome to Admin Junkies, Guest — join our community!

Register or log in to explore all our content and services for free on Admin Junkies.

Silent treatment in workplace

Claraviolet

Loyal member
Credits
Have you ever had to face silent treatment in workplace? I did when I worked as an intern, while I was still in college. I joined a company as an intern to gain some work exposure and they praised me as a good resource initially.

Later, when I got 3 job offers from other companies, and I decided to leave that intern company... but the HR objected to it. She told me that I shouldn't think about other offers and need to stay loyal to the company. I was confused and told them that, I was a student and had to join the intern as per my college policy and that's about it.

After that, they started giving me the silent treatment. They did offer me the same package as the other 3 companies but I was sure the career growth wouldn't account to much , so I rejected that offer. Probably that set them off and later, even when I was leaving, no one talked to me. I was hurt by it( a lot actually) but it's just for 2 months and after that I never looked back.

So, have you guys ever had to face any such situations? If so, how do you deal with them?

Advertisement Placeholder
I think that shows that you did your job well and you actually are everyone's favourite but still they should know that we are all hoping for better opportunities than the one we currently have or managing.

I did face something similar, but I could not leave till the term was complete. I eventually turned the tables on them and started dishing out the cold shoulder myself.

I tried to reconcile with them before I left, but some words can't be taken back once they've been said.