Welcome to Admin Junkies, Guest — join our community!

Register or log in to explore all our content and services for free on Admin Junkies.

Python Making Input Statements

Jason

Royal member
Bronze Member
Website
drummerlesson.com
Credits
Making input statements is vitally important because, of course, we might someone on the outside to give information, you know, like in a survey or whatever. Anyway, input statements aren't much in Python and probably not much in other languages either.

Getting Our Feet Wet

Let's dive into this topic with some examples. Notice that aside from strings, you need to declare the datatype so things don't mess up. I was wondering, though, as I'm not an expert, only a learner, can you also declare the str type?

Code:
your_gpa = float(input("What is your gpa?"))

print("Your gpa was recorded as" + " " + str(your_gpa) + ".")

your_age = int(input("What is your age?"))

print("Your age is recorded as" + " " + str(your_age) + ".")

your_school = input("What is your school?")

# Notice we didn't have to declare the str type.

print("Your school is recorded as" + " " +  (your_school)  + ".")

do_you_play_sports = bool(input("Do you play sports, true or false?"))

print("It is recorded that it is" + " " + str(do_you_play_sports) + " " + "that you play sports." + ".")

This is quite straightforward. Any questions? Have you run into Python applications where this stuff was probably used? How did it go?

Last edited:
OK, so there's a few things I need to clarify here.

Everything in Python has a type, by definition, by design. Nothing exists in a typeless form - it literally can't. Things like bool(), int() and so on aren't 'declaring the type', they're *changing* it.

int('5') is 'take a string that is the character 5 and turn it into a whole number'
int('500') is 'take a string of 3 characters, a 5, a 0 and a 0 and turn it into a whole number'