Welcome to Admin Junkies, Guest — join our community!

Register or log in to explore all our content and services for free on Admin Junkies.

• Admin Junkies is proud to announce 📣 an awesome ☀️ summer special on ✍️ Content Bundles for YOUR forums! Kickstart your discussions with a Content Bundle. For the entire month of June, use the promo code AJSUMMER 🎉 to receive 50% 🎁 off your content bundle. For example, a package that normally only costs 100 Credits will only cost 50 💰 credits. Full news here.

If you were starting a new community what software would you use?

Izaya

Credits
The only stipulation is that it can't be whatever software you are using at the moment for an existing community you own/run.

For me, i'd like to try Wotlab Burning Board...I use IPB on my site now and I have a lot of experience with XF which is largely underwhelming.

If I was to do a new community, I want something unknown to me but still fresh such as WBb as the communities I've seen actually look pretty cool.

How about you all?

Advertisement Placeholder
At this point, I get so tired of the conventional forum-style that I'd probably build my own software. I have tried doing my own software before.. I may actually try again as my next PHP project.

I like XenForo, personally. I might try WBB or IPB (WBB looks really cool, and IPB is a good software from my experience). I'd probably use xF. It's what I like the most.

Since I have both XF and IPB licenses sitting around I'd decide what kind of website it was going to be first and which features I needed. General discussion I'd go with IPB since it has more features available in the long run. I'd go with IPB as well if it was website related as not many website related forums use IPB.

I'd use XF in rare occasions mostly because I don't know how to use it and it seems more difficult to me.