Welcome to Admin Junkies, Guest — join our community!

Register or log in to explore all our content and services for free on Admin Junkies.

General How long have you been a webmaster?

For all the diverse topics that don't quite fit elsewhere.

cpvr

Recognized member
Bronze Member
Website
www.virtualpetlist.com
Credits
When did you become a webmaster? How old were you? What made you decide to become a webmaster?

I’ve been a webmaster for over 20 years now. I started building websites when I was a teenager. Being a webmaster is a passion of mine and I love it.

What about you? What inspired you to become a webmaster?

If I recall correctly, I’ve been a webmaster since 2002/2003 so that’s also over 20 years. Started off with free forum hosting, and I think I got my first cPanel around 2007.

I first became a webmaster in 2010, I was 20 years old and made a forum on Forumotion. So I've been a webmaster for only 14 years. Not as long as some members here, but still a long time. I didn't dive into self hosting until 2013 shortly after creating Mighty No. 9 Universe. In order to have a fully custom theme, my co-admin needed complete control over the theme files which prophpbb didn't allow members to do.

I started with some "product biz in a box thing". They gave you the website and all you had to do was market it. It was a failure because I wasa newbie to marketing. It was around 1999.

Later, I created a free static website for guitar lessons using basic HTML. That was around 2003.

Finally, I got into real web development and made some static employment sites (turned into blogs shortly after that) and a drum lesson blog. It was in 2008. The employment sites were a decent success until around 2013, I think, when the SEO got tougher.

Last edited:
If I recall correctly, I’ve been a webmaster since 2002/2003 so that’s also over 20 years. Started off with free forum hosting, and I think I got my first cPanel around 2007.