Welcome to Admin Junkies, Guest — join our community!

Register or log in to explore all our content and services for free on Admin Junkies.

How did you learn?

JennyorAlice

Renowned member
Credits
How and when did you learn coding? Are you self taught or did someone else teach you?

How and when did you learn coding? Are you self taught or did someone else teach you?
Honestly, even if you attend university for Programming. No one can "teach" another to code. They can help you to understand certain aspects of it but in the end it's up to that person to learn it, to understand it, in a way that is productive for them.

I am "mostly" self taught as are a lot of other people in the open source world. Sometimes it is a good thing. Some times not so much. It all comes down to that individuals commitment to learn the "right" way. To learn about and use best practice which admittedly changes over time. Programming is a discipline where the number 1 requirement is a desire to learn and improve. If you do not find that reward enough to make the journey then programming is most likely not the right field for you.

It was trial and error from what I learned. I originally started messing with coding on Invisionfree forums, but mostly the styles were ready and I could just copy and paste them. Minor tweaks only and that luckily was easy enough for me to figure out. I also started on Myspace and used a generator to kind of help teach myself!

Zetaboards and the extra codes became to get advanced, I loved messing with it on trials boards and seeing what it would do! I'm quite outdated on what I know though so I'm sure there is more for me to learn.