Welcome to Admin Junkies, Guest — join our community!

Register or log in to explore all our content and services for free on Admin Junkies.

Get a vps they said, it will be easy they said....

Well, first, what is your Linux experience.
Linode and Digital Ocean both have decent documentation on creating a VPS.
Are you planning on running a panel?
It's a pity that the beta of CentMin Mod is not available for use as you could use it and Arch Linux or Rocky Linux. Right now you would be limited to CentMin Mod 7 (which has about 9 more months before it goes EOL.
And I don't know anyone that says that Linux is easy to learn. It's like learning DOS back in the old days.
My suggestion to anyone interested, get Oracle's VirtualBox and install it on Windows and play with Linux there.

OK So I am new to this VPS sutffs any pointers on how to get started?

Did you obtain a managed VPS or an unmanaged VPS? Which control panel did you choose (CPanel, DirectAdmin, Plesk).

My previous two VPS ran CPanel and my current one runs DirectAdmin and I am pretty savvy with them both. Some overly technical things I will throw at Support since I pay for managed services.

Are you the Sinistra on Invision Community?
Yep, Thats me,

something tells me I didn't get a managed VPS if anyone has messed with hosting24 or hostinger that is my hosting provider. I can figure everything out once I get a control panel installed. I figured their control panel options would be alittle more.... selective and have cpanel as an option that I didn't have to get a license for. As for my Linux? none lol I am a full time windows user.

something tells me I didn't get a managed VPS if anyone has messed with hosting24 or hostinger that is my hosting provider.
Unless you are paying about $50USD a month (minimum most likely now but I haven't priced managed services in a while) then you arent.
These are the templates to install that are available to you