Welcome to Admin Junkies, Guest — join our community!

Register or log in to explore all our content and services for free on Admin Junkies.

Custom fonts: yay or nay?

NeoMetallix

Recognized member
Bronze Member
Credits
Lots of fandom's out there in the video game and movie worlds have custom fonts. Do you think using custom fonts in a theme/design looks good or do you think it's over the top? Say a Spider-Man forum uses the famous Spider-Man font used in the raimi movies for forum titles, would it add to the design or be gaudy?

Gaudy. I am a graphic designer, and a professional designer. I think there are so many opportunities to be original while also nodding back to the actual original font of, let's say, Spiderman. It would be nothing more than a knockoff.

Almost every site has “custom fonts” compared to what your computer has installed.

Roleplay sites in general seem to thrive on picking fonts that don’t necessarily go with the mood of a site, readability be damned, but that falls into the “super stylised” camp in general, which is where the movie example comes in.

Usual rules of good taste apply - use super stylised fonts sparingly, site heading/logo, occasional headings, because using it everywhere (especially body text) is just awful.

Usually just using custom fonts in a logo is fine, but if it's used throughout the entire board it looks bad. Especially if you have to tell your members to download a certain font style to even be able to see the proper font throughout the forum.

This forum uses custom fonts, though. I see Jost, Helvetica Neue, Roboto, Oxygen, Ubuntu, Cantarell, Fira Sans, Droid Sans, all at various weights in *this* forum.

Sure, some of those are mobile falllbacks, but Jost explicitly is loaded from Google Fonts on this site. (And don’t forget Font Awesome.)

I don't mind custom fonts as long as they are tasteful and not over the top. You can take a font and put your own swing on it without it looking too much or too out there.