Welcome to Admin Junkies, Guest — join our community!

Register or log in to explore all our content and services for free on Admin Junkies.

How do you win friends?

Advertisement Placeholder
When you figure that out, tell me your secret. But in all honesty, I am not good at making friends at all and I have serious trust issues with people I haven't gotten to know really, really well. I've never been in a relationship and a big part of that to blame is my serious trust issues. Funnily enough, there is a book that is pretty popular titled, "How to Win Friends and Influence People" but I've never read it myself. I may have to give it a read someday.

Don’t know, it just happened. I go by the phrase, you do good for me and I’ll do better for you. Worked my entire life and we’ve got a pretty close and big friends group that is more than friends, they’re family. It’s cliché I know, but that is how it is.

As an adult it is a bit harder to make new friends. In school though I would just talk to people about things I liked, or hear things they liked and I could say we had those in common. I met my bestfriend in 6th grade and we are just friends for life. We met because a friend of his was a friend of my friend and we all hung out a bit in 6th grade. I'm thankful for that friendship. Now a days I make friends with coworkers, but I don't let too many fully into my life.

I've not found it too hard. It just runs into me. For instance, at this library in Virginia, they have this time on Thursday where everyone in this group discusses things. I made trustworthy friends fast. Now, I have met other people that are sort of friends, but they're not truly trustworthy.