Welcome to Admin Junkies, Guest — join our community!

Register or log in to explore all our content and services for free on Admin Junkies.

Ever experienced being the 'scapegoat' at the workplace?

Frank

Captain Junkie
Credits
There are times in some businesses where the boss will want to push a staff to work better or improve. Sometimes, this approach can backfire especially when such staff begin to feel like they are being treated as the scapegoat. Have you ever worked in a place where you felt such way around your superiors at the workplace?

Advertisement Placeholder
Being made a scape goat at your workplace is more like being made to take all the blame for what you did and even what you didn't do. I have never felt this way or be treated in the same way at work. I would feel horrible at work should the management put me in this kind of situation. I don't think there's much need to keep working with such company.

For most of my professional life, I have been a freelancer. Even when I was working for companies, I never experienced being a scapegoat. However, I know a lot of people who have been in this situation. In fact, my spouse has become a scapegoat multiple times.

Bosses who makes their workers scapegoat are very wicked and selfish especially when they never did anything to warrant being made the scapegoat. Instead of taking responsibility for what happened in their own businesses and work on fixing it, they are looking for who to throw under the bus. When you're made a scapegoat for what you didn't do, all trust will be lost.

No one wants the blame put on them if they didn't do anything wrong. Any businesses that make you feel like you did wrong, when it wasn't your fault, are some of the worst. If a business throws you under the bus for mistakes they made, or mistakes they can't prove, quit that job, report them, sue them if it got really bad.

No business or workplace should ever treat someone in such a way.