Welcome to Admin Junkies, Guest — join our community!

Register or log in to explore all our content and services for free on Admin Junkies.

2FA in Forums

Credits
I have been posting on forums since 2015, over the period of 8 years, I have used hundreds of forums. I am still active on over two dozen forums. However, except for AJ, I have never come across any forums where 2FA has been enabled. I do not even have 2FGA on my forums. The only benefit I see in this is to stop unauthorized access to the forum. What are other possible benefits of using 2FA in a forum? Do you have 2FA enabled on your forum? Would you enable 2FA?

Advertisement Placeholder
I have never come across any forums where 2FA has been enabled
If your the same Nomad that's on RIF, you've come across one ;)

Most of my sites will have 2FA enabled. However, I don't force it on people except administrators. Up to the user if they want to enable it. I have it enabled myself.

What are other possible benefits of using 2FA in a forum?
Mostly just security really. If you do end up getting a compromised password, you aren't risking your account. At least the likelihood of your account getting unauthorized access significantly decreases.

This used to be a problem back in the day of old forums where accounts would get cracked. People panicked. I now wonder how true that was and if people just mostly leaked the staff room in their own regard. I know some community admins had their accounts cracked though and I do believe that. The security of forums was a bit lacking then so I think many consider it now especially if you use the same password/email at all sites you go to.