Welcome to Admin Junkies, Guest — join our community!

Register or log in to explore all our content and services for free on Admin Junkies.

cPanel vs DirectAdmin (1 Viewer)

Jordan

Credits
As end users, most of you would have used cPanel. As it was the industry standard with almost every webhost out there.
Now, DirectAdmin has been coming up a lot with the price hikes of cPanel

Has anyone used DirectAdmin?

I'm looking to switch all of my servers over from cPanel to DirectAdmin, as it could very well be worth the cost difference. Just want to know if it would be worth it.

Advertisement Placeholder
I had heard about DirectAdmin but I can't say that I have used it myself as of yet. I always used CPanel and that was what I was used to.

Is this something we will all be moving over to eventually?

I've been using a direct admin reseller for a few months now it seems to works nicely. If I were to get this for a dedicated or vps server I'd get cloud Linux as well

If I were to get this for a dedicated or vps server I'd get cloud Linux as well
Well cloud Linux in a shared environment is a must yes.

If the server was just your website, wouldn't be needed.

was just your website, wouldn't be needed.
Why not? What percentage of Site "Admin's" would you say are experienced/knowledgeable enough to be considered server administrators and command line proficient enough to admin a server only through ssh?

Why not? What percentage of Site "Admin's" would you say are experienced/knowledgeable enough to be considered server administrators and command line proficient enough to admin a server only through ssh?
I would say a good majority of site admins wouldn't be proficient enough for SSH.
But you don't need cloudlinux if you are just hosting 1 website. And that doesn't mean you will be administrating the server via SSH if you aren't on cloudlinux.

I've tried DA a couple of times but always go back to cPanel as that's what I'm familiar with.